Mattress

My mattress has seen more mistakes
Than I’d be sober enough to remember
Another woman’s neck
With your name whispered against it
Frozen fingertips
Won’t make me feel as numb as this
Maybe if I drink enough
You won’t be here when I wake up

My skin has had no more
kisses, than it’s had bruises
And sometimes I just forget how much it hurts
To lose the answers and all the false illusions
You’ve kept with you
Through all the passing seasons

I’d forgotten I’d ever had these strings
Because of love, happiness
And all those other pointless things

Leave a Reply

